College-wide Navigational Links | Go to Local Content
Main Content |

Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics & Genomics

People

Graduate Faculty, Students & Alumni:

Faculty

Name Title Phone/Email
Roger Boerma
Ph.D.
UGA Emeritus Professor 706-552-4525
roger.boerma@gsdc.com
Joseph H. Bouton
Ph.D.
UGA Emeritus Professor 706-542-5607
jbouton@uga.edu
William Branch
Ph.D.
Professor 229-386-3561 wdbranch@uga.edu
Peng-Wah Chee
Ph.D.
Professor 229-386-7274
pwchee@uga.edu
Zhen Bang Chen
Ph.D.
Assistant Research Scientist 770-228-7331
zchen@uga.edu
Patrick Conner
Ph.D.
Associate Professor 229-386-3903
pconner@uga.edu
Katrien Devos
Ph.D.
Professor 706-542-0925
kdevos@uga.edu
Wayne Hanna
Ph.D.
Professor 229-386-3184
whanna@uga.edu
Scott Jackson
Ph.D.
Professor, Graduate Coordinator 706-542-4021
sjackson@uga.edu
Jerry Johnson
Ph.D.
UGA Emeritus Professor 770-228-7321
jjohnso@uga.edu
David Knauft
Ph.D.
UGA Emeritus Professor dknauft@uga.edu
Zenglu Li
Ph.D.
Associate Professor 706-542-9805
zli@uga.edu
Cecilia McGregor
Ph.D.
Assistant Professor 706-542-0782
cmcgre1@uga.edu
Ali M. Missaoui
Ph.D.
Assistant Professor 706-542-2461
cssamm@uga.edu
Mohamed Mergoum
Ph.D.
Professor 770-228-7321 mmergoum@uga.edu
Scott NeSmith
Ph.D.
Professor 770-228-7358
snesmith@uga.edu
Peggy Ozias-Akins
Ph.D.
Institute Director, Professor 229-386-3902
pbgg@uga.edu
Wayne Parrott
Ph.D.
Professor 706-542-0928
wparrott@uga.edu
Paul Raymer
Ph.D.
Professor 770-228-7324
praymer@uga.edu
Carol Robacker
Ph.D.
Associate Professor 770-412-4763
croback@uga.edu
John Ruter
Ph.D.
Professor 706-542-9059
ruter@uga.edu
Brian Schwartz
Ph.D.
Assistant Professor 229-386-3272
tifturf@uga.edu
Esther van der Knaap
Ph.D.
Professor 706-542-4682
EsthervanderKnaap@uga.edu
Jason Wallace
Ph.D.
Assistant Professor 706-542-9696
jason.wallace@uga.edu
Dayton Wilde
Ph.D.
Professor 542-2471
dwilde@uga.edu
Donglin Zhang
Ph.D.
Professor 706-542-0776
donglin@uga.edu

top

Adjunct Faculty

Name Title Phone/Email
Vasilia Fasoula
Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Research Scientist and Consultant 917-684-9906
vfasoula@uga.edu
Maria J. Monteros
Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor 580-224-6810
mjmonteros@noble.org

top

Affiliate Members

Name Title Phone/Email
Bill Anderson
Ph.D.
Research Geneticist 229-386-3170
Bill.anderson@ars.usda.gov
Karen Harris-Shultz
Ph.D.
Research Geneticist 229-386-3906
Karen.Harris@ars.usda.gov
Corley Holbrook
Ph.D.
Supervisory Research Geneticist 229-386-3176
Corley.Holbrook@ars.usda.gov
Joseph E. Knoll
Ph.D.
Research Geneticist 229-386-3189
Joe.Knoll@ars.usda.gov
Ming Li Wang
Ph.D.
Plant Molecular Geneticist 770-229-3342
Mingli.wang@ars.usda.gov

top

Post Docs

Name Research area/Lab

Phone/Email

Bahri Bochra Bahri
Ph.D.
Genomics of switchgrass: SNPs identification, mapping & chromozome allocation
Lab:
Katrien Devos, Athens
706-542-4066
bbahri@uga.edu
Corbi Jonathan Corbi
Ph.D.
Epigenetic variations in soybean and common bean
Lab: Scott Jackson, Athens
706-542-5223
jcorbi@uga.edu
Dongying Gao

Dongying Gao
Ph.D.

Plant genomics and mobilome
Lab: Scott Jackson, Athens

706-542-6227
dgao@uga.edu

Eudald Eudald Illa-Berenguer
Ph.D.
Fruit Weight Regulation in Tomato
Lab: Esther van der Knaap, Athens
706-542-4765
eillaberenguer@uga.edu
Kyung-Do Kim

Kyung-Do Kim
Ph.D.

Soybean Genomics and epigenomics
Lab: Scott Jackson, Athens

706-542-5223
kkim@uga.edu

Pawan Kuman

Pawan Kumar
Ph.D.

Cotton Genetics and Genomics
Lab:
Peng Chee, Tifton

229-485-9444
pawanks@uga.edu

Liliam Liliam Martinez Bello
Ph.D.
Genomics of switchgrass and its model foxtail millet
Lab:
Katrien Devos, Athens
706-542-9294
limabel@uga.edu
Pendergast Thomas Pendergast
Ph.D.

Genomic diversity of Setaria and Eleusine
Lab: Katrien Devos, Athens

thpiv@uga.edu

Peng Qi Peng Qi
Ph.D.
Plant genome and bioinformatics Lab: Katrien Devos, Athens
706-542-9294
pengqi@uga.edu

Sergio Samoluk Sergio Samoluk
Ph.D.
Peanut Genomics
Lab: Scott Jackson, Athens
706-542-5223
ssamoluk@uga.edu
Jin Shin

Jin Hee Shin
Ph.D.

 

Peanut Genomics
Lab: Scott Jackson, Athens
706-542-5223
jshin@uga.edu
Rebecca Tashiro

Rebecca Tashiro
Ph.D.

SNP marker development for trait selection in soybean
Lab: Zenglu Li, Athens

706-542-0915
rtashiro@uga.edu

Xu

Chunming Xu
Ph.D.

Genomics and Epigenetics
Lab: Scott Jackson, Athens
706-542-5223
xucm848@uga.edu

top

Staff

Name Title Phone/Email
Deborah Franco Deborah Franco
Administrative Manager 706-542-5607
pbgg@uga.edu

top

University of Georgia (UGA) College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences (CAES)